Internet Assignet Number Authority

Number Resources

IANA is responsible for global coordination of the Internet Protocol addressing systems, as well as the Autonomous System Numbers used for routing Internet traffic.

Currently there are two types of Internet Protocol (IP) addresses in active use: IP version 4 (IPv4) and IP version 6 (IPv6). IPv4 was initially deployed on 1 January 1983 and is still the most commonly used version. IPv4 addresses are 32-bit numbers often expressed as 4 octets in “dotted decimal” notation (for example, Deployment of the IPv6 protocol began in 1999. IPv6 addresses are 128-bit numbers and are conventionally expressed using hexadecimal strings (for example, 2001:0db8:582:ae33::29).

Both IPv4 and IPv6 addresses are generally assigned in a hierarchical manner. Users are assigned IP addresses by Internet service providers (ISPs). ISPs obtain allocations of IP addresses from a local Internet registry (LIR) or national Internet registry (NIR), or from their appropriate Regional Internet Registry (RIR):

Map of RIRs
Registry Area Covered
AfriNIC Africa Region
APNIC Asia/Pacific Region
ARIN North America Region
LACNIC Latin America and some Caribbean Islands
RIPE NCC Europe, the Middle East, and Central Asia

The IANA’s role is to allocate IP addresses from the pools of unallocated addresses to the RIRs according to their established needs. When an RIR requires more IP addresses for allocation or assignment within its region, the IANA makes an additional allocation to the RIR. IANA will not make allocations directly to ISPs or end users except in specific circumstances, such as allocations of multicast addresses or other protocol specific needs.

IP Address Allocations

Internet Protocol Version 4 (IPv4)

Internet Protocol Version 6 (IPv6)

Autonomous System Number Allocations

Emerging Regional Internet Registries


  • RFC 5156 — Special-Use IPv6 Addresses
  • RFC 3330 — Special-Use IPv4 Addresses
  • RFC 3177 — IAB/IESG Recommendations on IPv6 Address Allocations to Sites
  • RFC 2928 — Initial IPv6 Sub-TLA ID Assignments
  • RFC 2450 — Proposed TLA and NLA Assignment Rules
  • RFC 3513 — Internet Protocol Version 6 (IPv6) Addressing Architecture
  • RFC 2050 — Internet Registry IP Allocation Guidelines
  • RFC 1918 — Address Allocation for Private Internets
  • RFC 1518 — An Architecture for IP Address Allocation with CIDR

Site Map
Root Zone
IDN Repository
ProtocolsNumber Resources
Abuse Information

IANA is operated by the
Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers

Tinggalkan Balasan

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Logo WordPress.com

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Logout /  Ubah )

Foto Google+

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Logout /  Ubah )

Gambar Twitter

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Logout /  Ubah )

Foto Facebook

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Logout /  Ubah )

Connecting to %s

Penyejuk Hati, Pencerdas Generasi

%d blogger menyukai ini: